Springbok logo from 1965-Edit.png
Springbok rugby trui, 1970s.jpg
  • From 1891 to 1903, the selectors who selected the South African teams for the international matches against the visiting British teams were selected by the home Union that organized the matches. For example, it was Port Elizabeth who nominated the first selection committee to select the very first team and where the match against the British took place. This was followed by Kimberley and then Cape Town. In other words, for the second international match, Kimberley appointed its own selectors who then selected a team and for the third international match of 1891, it was Cape Town.

  • At the end of MacLagan's British tour in 1891, Sir Donald Currie, head of the Castle Line, promised a golden trophy to the team that performed best against the touring team. The trophy was awarded to Griqualand West who in turn donated it to the Board of the inter-area competitions. In 1891 a team consisted of three backs (one centre and two wings) and nine forwards. A try counted only 1 point and a goal, 3 points. It was not the try that mattered but the purpose. These were goals that decided matches in the old days and not tries.

  • During the 1891 tour, five people controlled the matches namely, two boundary judges and three match referees one of whom was a "referee". For a large part of the tour, carriages were used because the trains did not yet have dining salons at that time. RLO Versfeld, better known as Loftus, played for the Transvaal Rural against the touring team in 1891 and he did so much for rugby that his name was awarded to the headquarters of Northern Transvaal's Rugby Union field.

  • The first try, as well as points by a South African against a British touring team, only came in the second international match (test) of 1896 when Theo Samuels scored two tries against the British in Johannesburg. It was also fitting that the first time South Africa wore green jerseys (last Test of 1896) they won the match, thus the first win by South Africa. In 1896 the points changed from 1 point to 3 points for a try. In the 1891 series, a try counted just one point. A goal kick was worth two points and a dropkick, four points.

  • The first SA selectors recorded were Barry Heatlie, Percy Jones and Biddy Anderson who selected the team for the last international match in 1903. All three were from Western Province. Bob Loubsher was the youngest player to ever play for South Africa at 19 years and 1 month.

  • In 1906 there was a Currie Cup tournament in Johannesburg which served as trial matches, but in which Paul Roos could not participate. He was included in the team and was named captain by the players. The "thin red line" of Stellenbosch, Boy de Villiers, Japie Krige, Bob Loubsher and Anton Stegman were all in the team of 1906. The team had nine players who had previously played for South Africa. Before the team's first match, a British journalist came to captain Paul Roos during their training and asked what the name of the team was. Paul thought so little and then told the journalist, "call us springboks, our national antelope, and it's springboks, not springbucks". The weapon was then designed in Britain and for the first time the name Springboks was used and jerseys with the weapon were made for them.

  • 1910 was the first time a British touring team visited South Africa and was representative of all four British home unions, namely England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. The first time the British team wore the famous badge of all four home unions on their jerseys was during the tour team's visit to South Africa in 1924. They were known as the British Isles, not British Lions.

  • The 1912-13 tour was where the tradition began to take a stuffed springbok head and hand it over to the first team that could beat the Springboks. The Newport team did manage to do so in the seventh game when they beat the Springboks 9-3 and captain Billy Millar then had to hand over the souvenir to Newport.

  • Attie van Heerden was a double Springbok because in 1924 he represented South Africa at the Olympic Games and was also a member of the 1921 tour team to Australia and New Zealand. He also set a record by scoring five tries in the game against New South Wales, a record that was only improved again in 1956 by Roy Dryburgh when he scored six tries against Queensland.